The Sonnet

Well, I finally decided to do it!  The thing that I have been dreaming about since we began studying Shakepeare – back in my schooldays.  That’s write a sonnet.

Sonnets did not die with the 17th Century, although they went out of style in the Restoration.  The Romanticist poets wrote them: such as Wordsworth, Keats, Shelley and Elizabeth Barret Browning.  American poet Henry Wadsworth Longfellow wrote them, his countrywoman Emma Lazarus’ poem ‘The New Colossus’, a famous tribute to the Statue of Liberty, was one of her sonnets.

With silent lips. “Give me your tired, your poor,

Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,

The wretched refuse of your teeming shore.

Send these, the homeless, tempest-tost to me,

I lift my lamp beside the golden door!”

(Lazarus)

Another sonnet, from the 20th Century, was Wilfred Owen’s ‘Anthem For Doomed Youth’.

In the 21st Century, the internet is full of instructions on how to write a sonnet.  Therefore it should be easy to do, but it wasn’t.

MY SONNET

So you are here again, my darling Hope

My companion of the darkest night

I know not the way that I would cope

If not for you, my shining light

You shine like rays of golden sun

Piercing through a sky of lead

That the dark clouds will soon be done

Is something you have always said

You are never silent, always there

Through good times and through bad

In all, you drive away despair

So how could I not be glad?

Now those happy times are here

Just as you told me, Hope, my dear.

WORKS CITED

Lazarus, Emma.  The New Colossus.  Sonnet Central.  2017.  http://www.sonnets.org/lazarus.htm  Accessed 17 May 2017.

Miller, Nelson.  Basic Sonnet Forms.  Sonnet Central.  25 August 2012.  http://www.sonnets.org/basicforms.htm  Accessed 17 May 2017.

Timpane, John.  HOW TO WRITE A SONNET.  The Poetry Center.  2017.  http://www.dummies.com/education/language-arts/poetry/writing-a-sonnet/  Accessed 17 May 2017.

Victor, William.  How to Write a Sonnet.  Creative Writing Now.  2017.  http://www.creative-writing-now.com/how-to-write-a-sonnet.html    Accessed 17 May 2017.

Leave a Reply

